MLB Postseason 2012: Predicting the American League and National League Championship Series Winners

My first round of predictions didn’t go too well as I only picked two out of six winners correctly (Yankees and Giants). However, I’m back again looking at both championship series. So without further ado, here is a preview and my predictions for each series before the ultimate prediction…The World Series.

ALCS: Detroit Tigers vs. New York Yankees

Game 1 was already played yesterday and the Tigers have the 1-0 lead. I think this is a series is over. The Yankees have been resilient as of late thanks to the likes of Raul Ibanez. However, the Tigers seem to produce better all-around offense compared to struggling bats of Robinson Cano, Nick Swisher, and Alex Rodriquez. The injury to Derek Jeter adds salt to the wound for the Yankees, as things are going from bad to worse. While Joe Girardi has shown some great managerial calls, I think the magic is over for the Yankees. In the end, I think the starting pitching of the Tigers, becomes too much for the Yankees. If somehow, the Yankees are able to get it to game seven; I rather take Justin Verlander on short rest over C.C. Sabathia on short rest. Give me the Detroit Tigers.

NLCS: St. Louis Cardinals vs. San Francisco Giants

The last two World Series champions face-off against each other as the St. Louis Cardinals take on the San Francisco Giants. Both had exciting games in the NLDS round of the playoffs and I expect this series to be more exciting than the ALCS. If you look at stats, it will tell you that the Giants had better hitting and better pitching. San Francisco also has the home field advantage in this one, which means if it goes deep into the series (game six and game seven which I fully expect); San Francisco will be playing those games at home. Both teams fought back from being down to take their series, but when it comes down to it I’m taking the San Francisco Giants. Better starting pitching for the Giants will help them win and the key stat is how many runs this team scores on the road. They were the second highest-scoring team on the road in the regular season, averaging 5.1 runs per game. One last factor is Tim Lincecum. He’s a two time CY Young winner however, struggled much of this year, posting the highest earn run average in the National League. In a reliever role he excelled. He allowed one run in 6 1/3 innings, getting the win in Game 4. If I’m the Giants, “if it ain’t broken don’t fix it”, keep Lincecum in the bullpen.

 

