Forbes Ten Most Disliked Athletes and Who Should Be Added To The List

Forbes Hated

Recently, Forbes  published the Most Disliked Athletes in America based on a Nielsen/E-Poll, based on how much an athlete appeals to those responding The list includes Manti Te’o, Lance Armstrong, Tiger Woods, Jay Cutler, Metta World Peace, Alex Rodriguez, Michael Vick, Kurt Busch, Kobe Bryant, and Tony Romo.

My initial thoughts on the list, is bravo by Forbes and the fans that voted. I think for the most part they got the most disliked athletes correct. However, I could do without Kurt Busch or Manti Te’o.

I think people dislike Te’o because their done with all the media attention his “catfishing” got. With Busch, I don’t know much about NASCAR which is why I don’t think he should be on the list. If anything, I see Tony Stewart as more of the villain of NASCAR over Kurt Busch.

While I praise the voters and Forbes for this great list, I think there are five athletes that should also be included on this list. With that said, here are five other athletes that could be included on the Most Disliked Athletes in America list published by Forbes.

1. Sidney Crosby

Hockey wasn’t featured on the list, but if you had to choose just one player, most hockey fans would tell you Sidney Crosby is the most hated hockey player. At 17, Crosby was compared in the same sentence as Wayne Gretzky and Mario Lemieux. He was drafted first overall by the Pittsburg Penguins in 2005 and his career skyrocketed. Since then he has battled some injuries, but when healthy and on the ice, he is the most dangerous player on the ice. Known as “The Next One” or “Cindy Crybaby” by people who hate him is probably going to be one of the best to ever play the game of hockey. However, antics like this, is why people hate him.

2. Tom Brady

Three Super Bowl rings, commercials and a hot supermodel by his side, why wouldn’t you hate Tom Brady. It’s been seven years since Tom Brady has won a Super Bowl (been in two since losing to the New York Giants both times) however, people still hate him. They hate to see him win, but love to see him lose. Personally, I love watching Tom Brady work in the pocket.  However, I believe if anyone met Tom Brady in real life, it would go down like this Entourage clip (watch at 8:00 on Turtle’s part).

3. Kevin Garnett

Kevin Garnett I guarantee will be a Hall of Famer. He also will more than likely go down as one of the best trash talkers in the game. Don’t believe me? I’m sure Charlie Villaneueva and Carmelo Anthony would disagree. While both alleged comments about each player (Villaneueva being called a cancer patient and Anthony’s wife LaLa tasting like Honey Nut Cheerios) is really mean in the end it got KG what he wanted, both of his opponents upset and flustered. Anthony got so angry he wanted to fight KG after the game, which gave him a one game suspension. If the fans don’t hate him, surly fellow players do.

4. LeBron James

Maybe LeBron James has been cleaning up his act as of late (see this and this), but still the whole “Decision” idea in 2010 will always tarnished his image with some, especially the city of Cleveland. No matter how many rings James wins (one so far); people will say he needed help from Wade and Bosh to get them instead of getting it on his own.

5. Tim Tebow

I’ll go on the record to say I like Tim Tebow, but I think the media has shoved so much “Tebow Mania” in our face that we just got sick and tired about hearing about a back-up quarterback who only threw eight passes the entire season last year. Yes, I would like to see Tim Tebow have another crack at becoming a starting NFL quarterback. Is it going to happen? I don’t think so, because NFL franchises realize that with this man, comes a whole circus of media. Here’s one sample of that “circus”. Yes, that picture is very ridiculous, but that is what Tebow Mania has done to us the last two years and I will say people hate it. I love Tebow as a person, but hate all the coverage he gets on major sports networks.

